Welcome to the world, Penny van Dough!

Hello, Richielovers, we had a special request for this story and I am happy to oblige. I will admit though, this story is one of those that I get far too emotionally involved in; so I will allow you to read it first, without my diatribe polluting your thoughts!

This story does contain a glaring typo in it that gets my goat every time. For some reason, I expect it to magically be fixed by the next time I read it, but no, there it is! Anyhoo, enjoy!

IMG_8366 IMG_8367 IMG_8368 IMG_8369 IMG_8370

Did you spot the typo on page 1? “H’lo Aunt Regina”????!!!!!!”  REGINA is your mom Richie, VANESSA is your aunt, how did no one spot that in copyediting? Aaaaahhhh!!!!

This is the one story where I actually feel sorry for Reggie. What kind of parents spend no time whatsoever with their child so that he could actually see his mom was pregnant? And why was there no conversation with him whilst tucking him into bed where you hand him an “I’m the Big Brother” tee shirt and everyone hugs? Why must a child have to see his parents race to the hospital and think they’re possibly dying when you could just tell the kid what’s going on in 1 second?

And why is a 10 year old driving? Just kidding, Richie always drives!

I would be so much happier if Richie had come over and all three Van Doughs were freaking out and no one told Richie what was going on so he had to follow them and discover the truth. Poor Reggie, his family has no love for him. I don’t usually either, but he should get a hug in this story.

Does this story “stick in your craw” as they say, or do you love it and have good memories? Please share in the comments below! 🙂

4 comments on “Welcome to the world, Penny van Dough!

  1. Thanks for sharing this story! I’ve been very curious about it for years. I noticed right away that Richie’s aunt appears to have the same first name as his mom. Maybe Reggie’s parents appear so infrequently that someone forgot? Although it seems odd for his parents not to have clued him in on what was going on, it probably fits in with Reggie’s personality being so warped that maybe part of his problem is that his parents don’t let him in on little things like this. I like the Harveyville Hospital touch. And Penny was born with a full head of hair, just like Pebbles was!

    I’m extremely grateful! Now I don’t have to spend a fortune hunting this story down! Thanks again!

  2. I don’t remember reading this one ever. So thanks for sharing. And seriously how come Richie didn’t notice his mama was preggers?

  3. Gee Bee says:

    It was a time of innocent naïveté. No child was supposed to know much about any aspect of this process. Notice how Richie had to think back just to remember the similarity to Pee-Wee’s birth? I don’t know if kids really were that uninformed about the facts of life in those days, but that seems to be what they were trying to depict. At least they didn’t go the stork route.

Leave a Reply

