Richie Rich and Jackie Jokers star in “Star Bores”!

Today we have a special request from a fan club member which really illustrates why I like to have input from you guys on stories. Richie Rich stories are so amazing for many reasons, but one of the biggest is the variety. There is something for everyone!

If you like adventure, satire, inventions, family, love, drama, humor, it’s all here. And everyone has their favorites and the ones they flip on past. I bring this up because this story is a flippy one for me, I think I am too girlie to see it’s greatness. But, that’s why I love getting requests, because if I just post what I like, there is no point to this blog because I can just read what I like at home! I want to also post what you guys like so you can enjoy your favorite types of stories.

So, keep sending in your requests, and do reply some commentary below for this tale, because I got nuthin’. 🙂

And now, we present, from Richie Rich & Jackie Jokers #26, the epic “STAR BORES”!

2015-04-03 16.29.342015-04-03 16.29.372015-04-03 16.29.392015-04-03 16.29.422015-04-03 16.29.452015-04-03 16.29.512015-04-03 16.29.542015-04-03 16.29.592015-04-03 16.30.032015-04-03 16.30.06

What did you think?

10 comments on “Richie Rich and Jackie Jokers star in “Star Bores”!

  1. Travis says:

    This was a fun parody of Star Wars; I think a lot of its charm comes from the great Ernie Colon artwork!

  2. daniel says:

    Thank you so very much, I love it, bring back memories reading Richie rich comics on a hot summer day back in the 70s, memories of hearing dad watching t.v. in the living room, mom cooking supper, and me and my younger brother sitting on our bedroom floor trading comics…older brother was probably doing something with his friends…..now almost 40 years later, mom and dad no longer together, younger brother was killed 20 years ago, older brother lives 1000 miles away……. But for a few minutes I felt like a kid again when all was well……thank you so very much for finding it☺

    • Wow, that was very moving. Thank you for sharing! Comics can be like songs, you remember exactly where you were when you heard them/read them. So glad you enjoyed it and that it brought back happy memories!

    • SteveAsat says:

      There’s a funness to these stories that’s timeless. Some days the image of Stumbo the Giant reclining against a mountain bobs up out of my memory and makes me laugh and I know there are few lucky people I could ever hope to explain it to. I’m so glad there are others who grew up feeling such pleasures.

  3. SteveAsat says:

    Oh YEAH! Back in ’77 my world revolved around Harvey and Lucas. When they collided it was like chocolate meeting peanut butter for the very first time. I always got a Jack Wild vibe off of Jackie Jokers, and I can totally hear this in my head like an episode of Pufnstuf.

  4. SteveAsat says:

    Oh, and if you’re looking for requests, there’s one story that totally messed with me somehow. It was a Richie & Casper story (issue #16 apparently). One of the Rich Labs boffins (very likely Keenbean) creates a dream amplifier and lets Richie try it out. On the splash panel for the second half of the story (IIRC) there was this stylized sun with a grinning face. Something about it just fascinated me – I guess I’d never seen that art style before, but it seemed like a deja-vu of some kind. It fit well with the surreal tone of the story but for me it eclipsed everything else. Mad magazine used similar rococo clip-art in some articles and I always found it stunning and a little unsettling. Still haven’t figured out why.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I don’t really like this particular story. Along with being a Richie Rich fan, I am also a Star Wars fan and I don’t like it when Star Wars gets parodied. However I do think it would have been cool if Richie, Jackie and their friends did Star Wars as a school play and were 100% true to the original movie.

Leave a comment