Gloria keeps finding money and Richie turns into a punk!

Whoops! I have sorely neglected my little Richie blog, it has been almost a year since my last post! But, I wanted to get back to blogging as I’m heading to Comic-Con this week and I started this blog 5 years ago after returning from my 1st Comic Con! (Which I thought would be Richie Richfest and was very disappointed that it had nothing to do with Richie.)

I ordered myself a Richie Rich shirt from Zazzle so if you are heading to San Diego this week and see a chick in a Richie Rich shirt, come say hi! (If it’s like last time, I’ll be the only one!)

And in BIG, EXCITING NEWS, check out this blog that has posted tons and tons of Richie comics.

http://www.omgbeaupeep.com/comics/Richie_Rich/674/

Ah…you can sit back, relax and read Richie all day! But, do come here and post your comments on all things Richie because the only reason I started this blog was to hear other people’s thoughts on Richie. My own thoughts are primarily “I love this!”, so I need more substance from your brain!

And now let’s begin, this is one of my all time favorite Cadbury one-pagers. I laugh every time!

2014-07-31 00.08.26

Hee hee! And now we have the perfect husband, ensuring his wife’s hair will never get frizzy.

2014-07-31 00.08.07

I apologize below for the poor quality, it’s difficult for one’s eyes to switch from digitized, beautiful Richie to old, yellowing Richie from my closet, but I love when Cadbury looks undignified, even for a moment.2014-08-02 21.40.00

Now to a cute story with Richie and Gloria.

2014-08-10 23.09.09

fullsizeoutput_262c2014-08-10 23.09.202014-08-10 23.09.242014-08-10 23.09.27

This begs an interesting question, that money now belongs to Gloria’s family who owns the land one would think. But, of course they won’t accept it. But, what if they did, and now Gloria was rich too? Interesting….Gloria was in theory rich in this story below, but compared to Richie, was still poor… https://richierichcomicsfanclub.wordpress.com/2013/08/27/one-of-my-favorite-richie-stories/

I love these stories where money is just everywhere, there is no bank big enough to hold it all! Mr. Rich would probably have all his money in bitcoins today so he could store it digitally.

Gloria really keeps her cool in this story. If you’d like to see her blow her top, click below:

Gloria Glad becomes Gloria Mad!

And now to a shocking story of Richie becoming a complete punk and a Reggie. Thank goodness, it’s just a dream!

2014-08-10 23.12.042014-08-10 23.12.112014-08-10 23.12.142014-08-10 23.12.182014-08-10 23.12.22

Ahhhh!!! I hate this!!! Richie must always stay sweet! This story is basically the same as the below with Richie inserted as bad guy:

Our 1 year anniversary, Richie Rich trivia, and the Riches go broke!

And if you like alternative versions of Richie, click below:

Richie and Gloria get married and have a son!

And lastly, this cute story reminds me that I have been waiting for this portable shower for decades…

2014-10-28 20.24.232014-10-28 20.24.392014-10-28 20.24.572014-10-28 20.25.192014-10-28 20.25.46

I’m reminded of the song, “What if God was one of us?” That is no way to treat a little hobo boy! Richie should have said, “Ya jerks, where is your compassion!!!” Harumpf, perhaps it is a town of idiots as they grew up without a school. Richie is much nicer in this situation then I would be!

What did you think of these? If you spot a Richie Rich shirt at Comic Con, say hi!  🙂

 

17 comments on “Gloria keeps finding money and Richie turns into a punk!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for remembering us and for the link to the other comic book site, now I’ve got some summer reading. I’m sure baffled by the rock/tree panel? Well, have a good time at the con!

  2. Roland Schama says:

    Thanks for posting👍🏻 Brings back fond memories reading my Harvey comics back in the 70’s. Richie, Hot Stuff, Little Dot, Little Lotta😃

    I still have lots of books to reread in my collection but would love to see them reprinted chronologically in Omnibus format!!!

    • In creepy news, I was able to change your “Hit Stuff” to “Hot Stuff”, but seems odd that I can edit your comment. With great power, comes great responsibility. Hee hee.

    • The closest we ever got to an omnibus edition was the Harvey Classics released by Dark Horse about 10 years ago. Richie Rich, Casper, Hot Stuff, Baby Huey, and the Harvey Girls (Little Dot, Little Lotta, and Little Audrey) all had their own editions. Some of these are hard to find now and kind of pricey, especially the Richie Rich volume.

      My only complaint with Dark Horse’s releases is that the majority of each volume is in black and white.

  3. Hugh says:

    I wonder how Gloria will react if money is everywhere, no matter what. Especially if they don’t belong to Richie.

  4. Travis says:

    Have a great time at Comic-Con!

  5. SteveAsat says:

    In the Gloria story, there’s a full page missing. When she picks up the red rock, I believe the story’s setup is explained at the top of page 2 then repeated as she tries to pick a flower, which you see at the top of page 3.

    The Greedy Richie dream not only makes him look bad, it also depicts his father in a poor light. The adventure-type stories usually show Mr. Rich to be quite self-reliant and confident, the kind of guy who wouldn’t be afraid to lose every cent and start over with nothing, a really good role model. Maybe that attitude is why he’s not greedy in the first place, nor is his son.

    Good thing Dot wasn’t along on that visit to Crestmont. I think she’d have cut loose on the lady in the polka-dot dress for being so rude to Richie while dressed like that. Funny, based on Richie’s first words in that story I was expecting it’d be a series of “my home town was SO small…” gags. That art style (Warren Kremer?) always sets the tone for lightweight strips…though this one’s got an undertone.

    • Aha! Any chance you have that missing page? I have no idea where it is! Thank you for letting me know!

      I’m glad Richard wasn’t trying to kill Richie at least like he did in that story where he doesn’t sleep!

      • SteveAsat says:

        I’m pretty sure I have it. If you name the title/issue it came from I’ll dig it out and scan it.

      • Ah yes, that is the problem. I have a bad habit of just taking pics of the stories and not noting where they came from. Otherwise I’d find it myself. 🙂
        But, thanks for trying!

  6. I’m not sure a gas-filled balloon releasing money on needy children below is such a good idea! Imagine the fights that would break out!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Obviously Richie’s dad was just dreaming. Richie is much too nice to turn into a spoiled brat like his cousin Reggie.

  8. Robert Rater says:

    According to comics.org, the story The Money Touch appears in Richie Rich #32, Richie Rich and Gloria #4, and Harvey Comics Classics (Dark Horse) #2, if you’re still interested in finding that missing page.

  9. Anonymous says:

    You should start posting archie comics too

Leave a comment